Book Review Round-Up

Hi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I haven’t posted for a while but I thought I would do a massive round-up of all the books I’ve read!

The Nowhere Emporium:

This book was nominated for the Blue Peter Book Awards 2016 and the Scottish Children’s Book Awards 2016. It’s perfect for fans of Philip Pullman author of Northern Lights, Corneila Funke author of Inkheart and Neil Gaiman author of The Graveyard It has won the Blue Peter Book Awards 2016, Scottish Children’s Book Awards 2016 and North East Book Award 2015.

When the mysterious Nowhere Emporium arrives in Glasgow, orphan Daniel Holmes stumbles upon it quite by accident. Before long, the ‘shop from nowhere’ — and its owner, Mr Silver — draw Daniel into a breathtaking world of magic and enchantment.
Recruited as Mr Silver’s apprentice, Daniel learns the secrets of the Emporium’s vast labyrinth of passageways and rooms — rooms that contain wonders beyond anything Daniel has ever imagined.

But when Mr Silver disappears, and a shadow from the past threatens everything, the Emporium and all its wonders begin to crumble.

Can Daniel save his home, and his new friends, before the Nowhere Emporium is destroyed forever?

I loved this book and I like it because of all the mysterious magic. As I love Harry Potter and many other magical stories this book was amazing to read.

Encyclopedia Of Cats:

This is a very useful book and has taught me lots. Now i know some Latin cat names and about the lineage. This book has converted some of my class’ dog-lovers into cat-lovers.

I recommend this book to any cat-lover whether you have a cat or wish to have one this book is for you.

Thanks for reading!

Advertisements

The Accidental Pirates: Journey To Magical North

The Accidental Pirates:Journey To Magical North is a fantasy and adventure book by author Claire Fayers. There are 2 books in the Accidental Pirates series, Journey to Magical North and The Journey To Dragon Island.Brine can either discover her past and why her parents sent her out to sea or could get eaten by sea monsters.

12 year old Brine Seaborne is a girl with a mysterious past…………….if only she could remember what it is. Found alone in a rowing boat as a young child, clutching a piece of rare spell-casting starshell, she’s been housekeeping ever since for an irritable magician and his apprentice, Peter.

But everything changes when Brine and Peter break the magician’s only piece of starshell and must flee the island of Minutes. Lost at sea they stumble across the legendary pirate ship, the Onion! Before they could say ‘pieces of eight’ they’re immersed in a pirate quest to find Magical North. A place so hidden underneath secrets some people think it doesn’t exist, that it’s only a myth.

A story full of orphans, pirates, spells and an evil magician there is non-stop action. I think it’s a hilarious and exciting story with unexpected journeys and lots of adventures to come! It was epic! It’s got lots of sword-fighting and quest-solving.

Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoyed! Be sure to get this book and read!

 

Waterlilybookworm!

 

Dear Readers

I’m quite sure you are unimpressed and disappointed in the fact I haven’t posted in AGES!

It’s just I’ve been busy reading books then forgetting to post about them due to distractions such as homework, TV, drawing,texting etc.

So this is another apology.

But I will do a quick run-up of the most recent books and reading tasks I have done.

The School For Good and Evil:The Last Ever After by Soman Chainani. It’s a great finale to the series and of course there will be an uneasiness between Sophie and Agatha as previously they have tried to kill each other. Not to mention the fact that Sophie keeps flirting with Agatha’s prince Tedros and he thinks Agatha knows he’s not serious which is true but she does have her doubts.

Time Travelling With a Hamster by Ross Welford. An amazing novel and Blue Peter Book Award Nominee. Al receives a mysterious letter on his 12th birthday from his dead father. The letter contains a confusing and dangerous mission. Al’s father will die 3 times, 1 the original time with a piece of metal in his brain, 2 because of Al’s attempt to save him and 3 of old age.

At school we have just finished reading Once by Morris Gleitzman. A very emotional and upsetting tale of a naive boy named Felix who escaped from an orphanage to try to find his parents. All because of a carrot. Felix helps Zelda who believes all his stories except one. One about her parents.

At school we are currently reading Sky Hawk by Gill Lewis. We haven’t read much of it however through roleplay and work we have discovered a bit about it. Callum and two friends are on a bike ride on Callum’s farm when they spot a girl fishing in Callum’s river.

Thanks,

Waterlilybookworm

PS Look forward to more reviews and quick updates soon!

The November Review

22 days until CHRISTMAS! πŸŽπŸŽ…But let’s get to the books.

Illustration School: Let’s Draw Cute Animals by someone! I do not know who the author is. Β If you know then tell me in the comments. It is an absolutely exceptional book because I Β love drawing.

Girl Online by Zoe Sugg. I love this book. It isn’t an autobiography like I thought. Β She is a good author, vlogger and blogger. I thought the story was a true story.

 

Shorter today but bye

October Review

Hi Halloween has gone! πŸŽƒπŸ˜­ but bonfire night is here! πŸ˜ƒβœ¨πŸŽ†. 6 weeks until Christmas!πŸ™‚πŸ˜ƒπŸŽ…πŸŽβ€β€β€ but there are still books to read and reviews to write so let’s get stuck in.

 

Let’s Bake by Cathryn Dresser has featured in other monthly reviews and I think it has it’s own review.The reason for this is because it’s not a storybook. It’s a recipe book. I mean you wouldn’t read 52 recipes in one go would you? Tell me your answer in the comments. You could read it throughout the course of a year, 1 recipe per week! A good book to browse through and bake the recipes that look good and they have tasted yummy!

Shadow Of The Dragon Part One Kira by Kate O’Hearn was in last month’s review and now features again.I like the thrill of the book even though it is extremely sad. It is also very exciting near to the end which is a cliffhanger leading to it’s next book featuring later on. This was a really good book to read though if you’re emotional maybe avoid this one. What’s your opinion on sad books?

The World Of Christopher Robin by A.A Milne is a good bedtime book. Unlike The World Of Pooh it features poems rather than stories which are very enjoyable and funny. Even though some give you the giggles you can find relaxation and more calming ones as well. Some poems are funny and happy and a couple are a little sad butyou can always find the brighter side of them.

Winter Story by Jill Barklem has it’s own bedtime review and is my favourite Brambly Hedge book. I don’t just like this book I love it. This story is soothing and relaxational. It has a calming feel to it and reminds you of ballroom dances in elegant dresses and suits. During the book the’dances started to get a bit faster’ like tangoes and quicksteps. Before returning again to the relaxing foxtrots and waltzes.

Shadow Of The Dragon Part 2 Elspeth by Kate O’ Hearn shows Kira’s younger sister Elspeth on her adventures letting you carry on the amazing tale of Kira in Part 1. I like this book because following Kira’s sister shows a different side to the story. It has drama and time travelling even a wedding slips in. It’s very imaginative and every page is a page-turner. I can’t wait to find out what happens next.

Join me next time bye!

The Slightly Late September Review

Hello readingspotters!

I know I haven’t done the September Review yet and it is approaching half term in October which yells’you need to do your book review!’ So here it is from the 5th of September up until the 8th October.

As you will know if you’ve read my Harry Potter Special that I’ve read Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. It’s by J.K Rowling and has a lot of action in it. I like this book because Harry Potter is always excellent to read and they are very enjoyable. It has some hilarious parts and also some very upsetting parts. But if you balance them out correctly you get an amazing result.

At school we’ve been reading The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne and on Tuesday we will be watching the film. I know this book is terribly tragic and although some moments might make you laugh then you realise they’re not that silly after all. There are two different front covers to the book. One is a bit of a spoiler and the other well gives absolutely nothing away.I am a very sensitive and emotional person so I will probably feel a bit unhappy during the book.

The finale book is The Shadow Of The Dragon Part One Kira by Kate O’Hearn. The start of the book is so unfortunate for the characters that I may have almost cried. Then it gets bit more cheerful but then it becomes awfully miserable again. Then they get a really clever plan and I love this book and I can’t wait to read Part Two.

 

Thanks waterlilybookworm